“The Secret Language of Dogs”–Review

61xos-763hl-_sx385_bo1204203200_Good morning, bloggers!  Here’s a new recommendation for dog owners/lovers.

Many of us have more likely wondered what dogs go through on a daily basis.  Sometimes we wonder if there’s some hidden language dogs share with each other.  In this book, trainer and star of Animal Planet’s It’s Me or The Dog, Victoria Stilwell reveals how to both interpret and “speak” the hidden language of dogs.

Each chapter will answer particular questions, such as:

  • What do different tail wags mean?
  • What does being right-pawed say about my dog’s personality?
  • How can I tell the difference between boredom barking and warning barking?
  • What does it mean when my dog spins around, arches his back, or gives me the whale eye?
  • Do dogs feel guilt?
  • How do dogs perceive human faces?
  • Why do some scientists think dogs’ emotional experience is even greater than ours?

And so forth.

20160724_104900

Leah (in the above picture) is extra hyper and can be a handful, yet she’s so sweet.  The book has a chapter on the reason for howling, which is something Leah does often, especially when I play music for her.  It could be that she just enjoys singing along to music.  And it boosts my mood.

13244127_1055301057894889_2686228353419622822_oBecause I look after a senior mini pinscher, named Mandy (in the above picture), I was definitely interested in the chapter on the language of aging.  When dogs get older, it’s especially important to know about certain signs in their body language.  Also, signs of aging could effect their daily activities, and oftentimes, they lose interest in what they usually love doing.  Because Mandy is arthritic and can’t walk anymore, I have to assist her with certain things.  Despite her ailments, however, I always treat her as if she were my little child.  So that’s mainly the reason I took interest in this book.

To all the dog owners/lovers, this may be the book for you.  As always, feel free to post your comments.  Happy reading!

*FTC Disclosure: I received this copy from Blogging for Books, in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

