Learning Something New

Good evening, fellow WordPress fans.  I hope you all are having a great Memorial Day.

While doing a bit of spring cleaning, this morning, I just happened to come across some written materials I had stashed away with the rest of my books and other junk.  I looked through the notebook, which is filled with Norwegian words and phrases, and realized that I want to get back to learning the language.  Just recently, I talked to an acquaintance and remembered that he really loved learning different languages.  He would learn, at least, one word and phrase a day.  I’ve realized that I ought to do the same.

Sure, we all have obligations and tell ourselves that we “just don’t have the time.”  However, I say that we just have to make a little time.  It may not be easy for everyone, but it’s worth a try.  For example, if you want to learn to play an instrument, practice for twenty minutes a day.  The same can be applied to learning another language or two.  Sometimes we just have to have a little time for ourselves, right?

I recall the first time I decided to learn to speak Mandarin–back in 2002, maybe?  I can’t remember.  I did sign up for a course and I remember my being told the typical “You’re not going to China.  Why are you taking that class?”  Hmm.  It’s probably because I just wanted to learn the language.  There’s no harm in that, after all.  It’s been a few years since I’ve studied Mandarin, so I’ll have to study it all over again.  But that’s okay.  I’ve also taught myself a few Swiss words and phrases, including Norwegian, which I’ve mentioned earlier.

The point is that one shouldn’t learn a language just for the sake of traveling.  In fact, don’t let others discourage you about traveling to certain countries.  We all learn a language for many reasons.  Whatever the reasons are, learning a different language can be fun and good for the brain.  As I’ve mentioned earlier, we just need to make a little time for ourselves, regardless of our obligations.  Besides, it may just benefit you.

4 thoughts on “Learning Something New

  1. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group
    of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.

    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a marvellous job!

  2. Hello there I am so grateful I found your weblog, I really found you by error, while I was
    browsing on Google for something else, Regardless I am here now
    and would just like to say many thanks for a
    incredible post and a all round exciting blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic
    b.

    • Tatum says:

      Hello there. Thank you for taking the time to stop by my blog. I appreciate your feedback and I’ll be updating everyone on new posts. Take care.

Leave a Reply

